The International Helmholtz-Weizmann Research School for Multimessenger Astronomy was opened on the 28th of October 2019 with a festive ceremony in Israel. The program, in which the Israeli Weizmann Institute of Science, the Humboldt University of Berlin and the University of Potsdam have joined forces with DESY, is funded by the Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres with 1.8 million euros. More information here.


Otmar D. Wiestler (President of the Helmholtz Association, 6th from left), Helmut Dosch (Chairman of the DESY Board of Directors, 3rd from left), Christian Stegmann (DESY Director for Astroparticlephysics, 2nd from left) and Daniel Zajfman (President of the Weizmann Institute of Science, 4th from left) formally opened the International Helmholtz-Weizmann Research School for Multimessenger Astronomy together with the speakers Marek Kowalski from DESY (5th from left) and Eli Waxman from Weizmann Institute of Science (7th from left), the principal investigators and the graduate students. Credit: Weizmann Institute of Science, Itai Belson


Structure of the School


The graphic represents the structure of the school including the partner institutions (University of Potsdam, Humboldt University, DESY, WIS), the executive board (with a spokesperson from every institution, the secretariat and a student representative) and the joint scientific secretariat (school spokesperson, coordinators and administrative support).

Official email address of the school: